What I Learned About History And Life From Civilization Games

Justin Streight
Reckless Speculations
4 min readMay 24, 2020

--

There is no better way to learn about history and life than playing Sid Meier’s Civilization (especially Civilization 2)… I mean, maybe reading books and going outside, but otherwise, no better way.

Civilization 2, the best of Civ game of them all. Screenshot via Moby Games

The time I’ve spent playing civilization games could have easily equated to an MA in history or even a degree that mattered in the job market. But playing this computer game was not time wasted.

Playing civilization games has given me a unique perspective that might not be worth money but is worth… something. And yes, I’m talking about all the Civ games from Civ 1 back in the early 90’s to the most recent 6.

All of them, except the Civ 3…

Starting Point Is Essential

One extra food or production might not seem like much, but those slight advantages snowball through the course of history. Unless a cataclysmic event changes the game (usually a big war), there are few ways to beat the start-point advantage.

And what’s true in Civilization is true in real life.

Jared Diamond makes a pretty persuasive case for starting point advantages in his book, Guns, Gems, and Steel, arguing that resource advantages have determined the long slope of history so far, but even personal success is…

--

--

Justin Streight
Reckless Speculations

I spend too much time in my own head and try to drag others there with me. Email: recklessspeculations@gmail.com Youtube: https://bit.ly/2WjKodY