I Avoided A DUI Driving White In Georgia

TaylorRuth
Recovery International
5 min readAug 18, 2020

--

White privilege in the state of Georgia serves no one. Not even the white people.

Photo by Sara Cervera on Unsplash

As any white person in 2020, I am struggling with the realities of my white privilege. I’ve had many experiences in which I knew I was benefitting from the way I looked the moment they happened. Always, I attributed them to my being a woman with certain physical qualities that the men I encountered found desirable. Never, did I consider that the color of my skin having any impact. In my sobriety, I find myself reflecting on moments questioning my lack of repercussion for my behaviors. That’s not to say I didn’t. I lost a lot. Friends, jobs, respect. Somehow, even when handed the opportunity on a silver platter, I never when to jail.

The silver platter was my Scion TC. She was silver. A bullet. In my blackout states, I drove her to my near-death countless times. Our final journey together, one that I am quite certain should have been my final journey, is one that I have found myself not only questioning my fortune, but further enforces my doubt in the State of Georgia’s ability to adequately address behavior when it endangers the lives of others.

I knew I only needed one to feel numb, and this night, in an attempt to be responsible, stuck to what I needed.

--

--