Providing value from day #1

Diary 1: Building a Zebra Business in the Media Space

Adwoa Boakye
RecRoom

--

I recently attended Google Launchpad’s Female Founders Conference. Ilana Golan, the founder of Golan Ventures, gave a talk on the second day. Ilana said one thing that really stuck with me (paraphrasing) : “Everyone is human and has needs. When you’re networking and reaching out to people, even VCs, think about what value you can also give.” That struck a chord because sometimes I feel like I’m not the most helpful human being and I am working to build a business to provide value.

My amazing parents gave me the best education and continue to be people that I can aspire to be like. One of the things I aspire to do is to try and do good for them and for the communities that I want to build technology for NOW. Hearing Ilana’s message made me think of a way to start providing some value today as I work to grow RecRoom for tomorrow.

All of us need to live sustainable lives: writers, journalists, artists, and entrepreneurs. As I interact with companies and individuals exploring the podcasting space I hear a frequent need for audio editors and producers. I’d like to connect editors with the potential clients that I meet.

If you are ever interested in exploring something like that and/or building your portfolio of work by producing shows for interested clients. Just enter your information here and I’ll reach out if I run into someone whose need you might match.

“Everyone is human and has needs. When you’re networking and reaching out to people, even VCs, think about what value you can also give.”

At RecRoom we’re working to show that Audio Surveys can add new dimensions to audience feedback. Investigative Podcasts, Live Events, and anyone looking to get a pulse on their audience should check us out!

--

--

Adwoa Boakye
RecRoom

former founder @RecRoom and former Engineer @Medium