Are You In Control Of Life?

Or Is Life Controlling You?

Jeff Barton
Recycled
Published in
6 min readFeb 5, 2019

--

Photo by lee Scott on Unsplash

There are only a few who control themselves and their affairs by a guiding purpose; the rest do not proceed; they are merely swept along, like objects afloat in a river. And of these objects, some are held back by sluggish waters and are transported gently; others are torn along by a more violent current; some, which are nearest the bank, are left there as the current slackens; and others are carried out to sea by the onrush of the stream. Therefore, we should decide what we wish, and abide by the decision.

-Seneca from Moral Letters to Lucilius

It took me a long time to figure out I was not in control of my life, and for many years I allowed others to control me. They controlled my time, my future, my thoughts. They controlled what I did and how I did it. And looking back now, I didn’t realize how much control they had over me.

I followed the path laid out for me by society and others. I did what I was supposed to…

--

--

Jeff Barton
Recycled

Dad, trail/ultra runner, orophile & aspiring recluse. I write about life, mental health, and running. Starting life over. Creator of Runner’s Life.