Getting Sick is Not a Good Time

Have you ever felt like you weren’t grateful enough for your good health, and then you got really sick?

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled
2 min readOct 23, 2019

--

For the past 24 hours, I have probably slept for 12 of them. I am sleeping more than actually doing something with my day.

Have you ever felt like you weren’t grateful enough for your good health, and then you got really sick?

I feel very useless. I’m fighting through my clogged nose and itchy throat to go out into the cafe and write. Being sick means that I’m self-conscious about my sneezing, my sniffles, and my coughs. It also means that I need to “rest” more than usual. As someone who’s always on the go, this experience is very restraining. It is like that sometimes.

The main thing I’m actually able to do while being sick is watch Netflix. I can’t wait until it passes. I’ll still find the willpower to go running at the gym, but it sure won’t be at a 6:15 per mile pace today.

Sometimes, when we’re trying to accomplish a lot at once, we can experience burnout. Prior to writing this article, I recognized that my hands were constantly shaky and I thought I was getting quality sleep. Ever since I’ve gotten all this sleep, my hands no longer tremble. For that reason, it’s important we listen to our bodies, eat healthy, and get enough sleep.

Stay safe, don’t get sick, and find the willpower to do what makes you happy!

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled

Helping develop a better mindset for a brighter future. Covers army, content creation, fitness, mindset tips, and more!