My Magical 21st Birthday in Hawaii

All with the help of Tinder

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled
2 min readFeb 8, 2019

--

Friends I made in Hawaii — Courtesy of Author

So, today was a really amazing day! Set it off a little slow, but it’s all about momentum, right? That’s precisely what I got when I left home and hopped on bus #2 up the hill and to the left.

Walking from Waikiki Beach all by myself was a little lonely, to be honest with you. I was all alone without any plans! In my mind, the main thing I was planning to do was to check out the stores and malls maybe, then eventually make my way over to the beaches.

First, I went on top of the Marriott and I fell in love with all of the views and architecture. This is where I met Kim and her friends from Tokyo on a business trip!

She took a picture of me, and I offered the same to her. No dice. At the same location, I meant bartender Dan. Dan is one-of-a-kind and quite the Patriots fan, which I just glossed over because I wasn’t trying to start anything. From there, I went on to meet tons of other happy, fun souls.

Next, I meant John from the valet, who is a huge Seahawks fan also! Legendary! This was honestly a breakthrough. I used every moment to talk and connect with people on This Island right away!

It was at McDonald’s nick freaking Donna that I met up with Creek beaver, the most positive guys I have ever met, with so much good energy! He lived on the island for more than 20 years, and it’s really shown because he knew basically everybody on the island. Kirk showed me how to be happy, others happy, and live happily!

Kirk and I jumped around about for hotels and met with like six people on this journey. One guy told me about his hustle being a doctor. Another showed me the value of becoming closer to church and with God.

Last but not least, Leanne taught me a ton about skincare and why I should buy her $4000 product.

As the day came to an end, I met these two girls from Santa Clara, and they were super chill! I loved it. I had positive energy and was obsessed with discovering the success of picking up random girls.

It was such an adventurous day, and the days following couldn’t have gone any better than they did either. I love Hawaii.

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled

I started writing during the pandemic, took a short break. But have returned for more. Quality over quantity this second time around. Thanks for being here!