Benefits of Thrift Shopping

Affordability, convenience, and adventure all in one

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled
2 min readOct 16, 2019

--

Photo by Artificial Photography on Unsplash

Thrifting typically has a negative connotation to it, but I’m going to share with you why it doesn’t. For nearly 12 years, I have been a thrifty shopper. My dad used to take my brothers and me every week to see what kinds of treasures we could find.

Our shopping ranged from sports gear to clothes and toys. From time to time you could find a vintage gaming system.

My favorite thing to shop for as of late has been clothes. I could say that about 40% of my closet accounts for thrifted clothes. About 25% of those clothes are name brand. Brands like Nike, Express, Billabong, and Adidas.

Since I am a supporter of thrift shopping, I’m very open about it and encourage friends and family to do the same. Three major factors come to mind when I think about thrift shopping. Environmental, social and personal impact.

Re-wearing clothes reduces waste and pollution so purchasing second-hand means one less piece of clothing is produced.

Benefits

Thrift stores make it easier to know where your money is going. To track the money you hand over for that brand new Nike tank-top, you would have to trace the corporation behind it, whether or not your farmer used environmentally responsible methods, if your seamstress was of age, and was paid a fair wage at the factory.

Since the initial purchase was made already, you are not oiling up the machine of these corporations you may not completely agree with. That’s a stretch and I don’t dive this deep on my purchases, but it still gives me peace of mind. Thrift clothing offers more room for uniqueness and creativity.

In short, thrifting is more environmentally & socially responsible, and personally rewarding.

--

--

Jordan Mendiola
Recycled

I started writing during the pandemic, took a short break. But have returned for more. Quality over quantity this second time around. Thanks for being here!