Restaurant Search App

nodyegova
RED Academy
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2016

Case Study / Project 1 / @ Red Academy

1. Intro This project focused on a conceptual development of a Restaurant Search App. This concept will help users who are unable to select their choice of a restaurant or a place to eat out through an engaging draw game. Also, the app will enable its users to create and manage the various groups for friends, colleagues or family members and invite participants of the group to the selected place.

2. My user is a young entrepreneur Casey, who runs a marketing company with her friends in Brunei. All of them work together in one office. They have a lot of activities and tasks to do during the day. Because of that, every day they face a problem where to go for lunch. They do not have time to search for a new place to lunch, book a table and find how to get there. Also, none of them wants to come up with an idea where to go, they keep transferring this task among each other.

One day of User’s Life

Her problems:
• busy day;
• variety of restaurants around;
• nobody wants to come up with an idea where to go; and
• no time to do a research and book a table.
Her goals:
• would like to avoid confusion and resolve hesitance among friends on the choice of place for lunch
• would like to explore with her friends different restaurants around their office

These are all key findings of my user research. I have distinguished and organized them onto one presentation sheet: My user persona.

User Persona summary

Following the further study of my problem I have identified the roles of my user:

3. Main hurdles:
• from the interview it was hard to pinpoint and confirm user’s problems;
• it was hard to organize and prioritize a large amount of necessary and unnecessary information;
• it was difficult to transform the assessed information into the initial application concept;
• it was difficult to simplify an overall complex problem to a clean and concise application idea;
• it was difficult to prioritize user’s needs and structure them in the application;
• to work with Invision was not straight forward, since it’s a new software for me.

4. How did I get over them:
I have studied and evaluated existing analogs with respect to the problem experienced by the user of my case study.

Competitive/Comparative Analysis

Further, I have determined their features which will be useful and beneficial for my end user and which I could apply to my app. Since there were too many of them, I had to highlighted the main objectives of my user and simplified my app goals according to these requirements.
Couple additional interviews helped me out to confirm what are the main user’s expectations from my application.

Gaps & Benefits

5. My design approach:
• simple;
• clean;
• intuitive;
• streamlined.
I have chosen this approach because the main goal of my user was to resolve the problem fast. Once Casey set up settings and organize participants into groups, it shouldn’t take her more than one minute to go through the process and get the result.

6. Link to the prototype of my mobile application:

--

--