The Most Successful Diet Plan, Ever!

Brandon Paschal
Red Beard Ramble
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2016

--

For the last several months I have been on the “eat what you want, when you want” nutrition plan. It has not been solely for lack of discipline, though the longer it has gone on, the less will power I can employ. Late last June, I began specifically focusing on gaining strength and muscle mass. The E.W.Y.W.W.Y.W. diet is certainly not the perfect diet for these goals, but it can work, and it is certainly one I can stick to. I have had a high emphasis on protein and fat, but I haven’t been afraid to pound some carbs too. After losing 45 pounds 2 years ago, I have put on 15 since last summer. I’m not freaking out and crying in front of the mirror because the extra weight is a predictable byproduct of the program. To a certain degree, it has been the goal. That being said, I am now beginning to train my cardio vascular system and improve my aerobic capacity. Currently my goal is being able to run far and fast for my next Spartan Race, which is coming up in July. I know that I am a much better runner at 190 pounds than I am at 205 pounds. Knowing this, I have been thinking about how my eating strategy should change. Since it is on my mind, and this is where I let my muse spill over, I thought I would share my opinion on the absolute most effective nutrition strategy for losing weight. Given my success from 2 years ago, I am confident in my approach. My goals are slightly different now than they were then so the plan will be slightly altered for me. However, the one key factor will still be in place.

What is the #1 weight loss nutrition plan? It is the one that we will consistently adhere to. There are a million and one different methods to reach weight loss goals, but unless we can stick to one, we will fail. Saying you are eating Paleo to lose weight but snacking on Paleo cookies every night while watching House of Cards will not get you to your goal. However, if you an ice cream fanatic, as I am, don’t start a plan that is completely carbohydrate prohibitive. You, as would I, will break. Often when we fail, especially when it comes to food, it leads us to a dark path of rationalizing, surrender, and ultimately guilt. Many times I’ve said to myself, “Well I’ve already screwed up today. I’ll start fresh tomorrow.” Then I proceed to shovel in more garbage that pushes me away from my goals. Rather, I try to utilize a plan that allows for food vices that are appropriately timed and enjoyed in moderation. The vices should be planned for and enjoyed without guilt. My personal plan for cutting weight is simple. Ingest fewer calories than I burn throughout the day. I use a food log, such as My Fitness Pal, rather than guessing. Everything should be logged without cheating. It is a little time intensive for the first couple of weeks, but most people eat the same foods quite often, and they are faster to log once they are in the database. If you start by just taking in fewer calories, you will lose weight. However, if you want to accelerate the progress and feel better in the process, focus on the source of your calories. I am not a dietitian, but my understanding is that all calories are not equal and do not function the same in the body. Carbohydrates certainly have their place and are not to be avoided altogether, but carbs that are not used as energy go to the liver and eventually get added to fat stores. Cells have a limited amount of storage space for carbohydrate energy, glycogen. Now we are in the weeds, but I’ll make the point. This storage is only depleted through high intensity movement. Therefore, if you are not fully depleting your glycogen but then refilling on carbs, they will become fat. Side note, if carb intake is reduced, AND glycogen stores are depleted through high intensity exercise, the body will pull from stored fat to use as energy…Bonus! Sometime I’ll write about exercising to facilitate fat loss.

Avoid obsession, though. Unless you are wired for it or are a driven bodybuilder, obsessing over food and especially slip-ups can steal the satisfaction from the progress. Just as extraordinary results from get rich quick schemes are atypical, so too are lasting results from silver bullet diet plans. A good plan well executed is far superior to a great plan without lasting follow through. The bottom line is that life is lived as a journey. Slowly and steadily develop good habits that you can live with and sustain long term. Get some results, and build momentum. Now, I‘ve got to go…Cupcake Wars is on.

--

--

Brandon Paschal
Red Beard Ramble

Husband, father, teacher, business owner, strength & fitness fan, and bald person that is aspiring to pay my bills by adding text to the internet.