Born of the Wind

A poem of self-realization and loving acceptance

Angelika Shelley
Red Mother
1 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Silhouette of a woman standing against the backdrop of a colorful sunrise sky, with wind blowing through her hair and the environment. Image created in Canva, using a PIxabay image by jakovzadro1

Born of the wind
scattered into the sunlight
my bones yearn for the roots
that my fiery wings struggle to reach,
as they seem to connect from
withIN the earth
at its molten core…

I dream instead
of slowly burrowing my way through
the sweet moist darkness of the soil from above,
kept company by blades of grass
threads of mycelium
wandering worms
and acorns buried long ago…

I open my eyes, behold!
the glorious sunrise
coming closer
as I soar through the clouds,
coasting on the currents
remembering in this moment
to trust my nature
to adore my truth…

To allow my salty tears to fall freely
to the ground
nourishing a small patch of dirt
in a clearing, in a forest,
on a mountain, overlooking the sea,
where minutes from now
I will land and rest…

--

--

Angelika Shelley
Red Mother

Facilitating wellness and inner exploration through ritual, embodiment, and authentic expression (movement, sound, art, writing) ~ www.spiralign.net