Welcoming Dan Vogel as our new Operating Partner

Red River West
Red River West
Published in
3 min readOct 15, 2021

We are extremely happy to announce that Dan has joined us as Operating Partner with an ESG focus. Dans is a successful entrepreneur who took his company Enablon global, with a significant development in the US and established it as the global leader in ESG software. He’s also a brilliant thought leader on ESG related matters.

He kindly agreed to answer a few questions.

  1. Why did you decide to join Red River West (RRW) as an Operating Partner?

I initially joined Red River West as an advisor a few years ago mostly because I shared the vision of supporting great European companies to scale into the US market. Indeed, many European tech companies have good innovative ideas, a lot of potential and strong founding teams; they could grow much faster by developing onto the US market, with its size and dynamism.
I have also experienced the US “leverage” myself through my former company Enablon or companies that I advise.
RRW also has that unique multi-cultural DNA of great entrepreneurs backed by successful investors and we share the same values around sustainability and diversity. I really enjoyed working with RRW founders and a few portfolio companies , over the last few years.
For these reasons, I’m delighted to take a more active role to become Operating Partner and preside the ESG Committee.

2. What’s your view on ESG innovation?

I have been working in ESG for more than 2 decades. I led the First Global Saas player in ESG for 17 years, Enablon; and that gave me a pretty good view on ESG corporate practices. Indeed, when I sold the company, a few years ago, we had rolled-out our Enterprise ESG Software in half of the 10 largest companies in the world and in half the Global 2000 companies. We were also providing an ESG technology for supporting the Global Supply chain of the Computer Industry, the Toys Industry, the Sportswear Industry and part of the Food Industry.
Companies used our Software for more Health and Safety, reduced environment impact and better work conditions. Still, I realized that to execute the ESG plans, whatever the quality of the Software or consulting you provide to a company, their employees need to have the right mindset. Hence my belief that in the coming years, ESG will innovate a lot in the dimension of people and enable them to be more balanced, efficient, or sustainable.

3. Personal view on French/American cultures?

I believe that a global multicultural approach is key to success, innovation, and personal balance. I have been working with great entrepreneurs, employees, coaches, psychologists, Professors and of course ESG practitioners from all continents. Of course, you could find specificities for each culture. But I find that it is too often caricatural.
I do have the impression that diversity is less at the cultural level than at the personal level. Especially given that more people are curious or are opening-up their minds. And that diversity is so key for a sustainable economic, corporate, and social development.
Now some systems are statistically excelling in some areas: the “French Touch” always adds that special identity. And US execution always helps in delivering faster and more efficiently.
So let’s make sure all cultures and everyone share what she or he does best.

--

--

Red River West
Red River West

The cross-border VC fund turning the very best European startups into global successes by scaling them in the US