Flies in the Mental Hospital

Patsy Starke
Red Rose
Published in
2 min readJul 8, 2017

Flies in the mental hospital
They won’t leave us alone
Why won’t they Isolate,
or just medicate?

They are not sick
But yes,
they make us feel that way
Please come on visiting day

Do they behave,
passively, or aggressively?
They bother me,
the reality I see

Are they depressed?
Manic I think
Who pays their bill,
as they sit on the sill?

Flies in the mental hospital
From the outside, they come
What’s on the inside, only the Doctor knows

Feelings and emotions none of them shows

Little demons with wings
Sharing my meal
Invading my space
Without knowing my case

No hallucinations,
No delusions, I think
They’re not talking to me,
So please just let me be

Patsy, 2017

--

--

Patsy Starke
Red Rose

Registered Nurse, Transgender Woman In a lifelong transition, realizing my place here. Trying to make sense of my life, while trying to make a difference.