SXSW Interactive 2017 - Day 1

AskGaryVee, Design Sprints, Personalized Web & Queues (or lines)

Terry O'Brien
Red Spark Digital
3 min readMar 11, 2017

--

Gary Vaynerchuk holding a live Q&A of #AskGaryVee at SXSW Interactive 2017

Before we jump into day 1

I managed to collect my SXSW badge late last night after arriving which was great as the line to collect badges today was so long. I didn’t have to wait last night as you can see here:

Tip: If visiting SXSW Interactive, and you do arrive the day before, collect it then! Try not to wait until the morning of day 1 otherwise you’ll lose half a day.

And now on to day 1

The first morning could have ended up a total waste as I missed out on attending 2 sessions due to demand. The queues were just so big. I took the opportunity to visit one of the lounges that some of bigger companies here at SXSW host over the period. I stumbled into THE EXPERIENCE by Dell Technologies where there was a panel session discussing ‘Open source: You get what you give’.

They also had some of their latest laptop and VR kit on display. Subject aside, I wasn’t totally sold over the ‘panel’ format of the session. I think I’ll focus on non panel type sessions for the remainder of the time.

Highlight of the day

As lunchtime approached I was keen not to fail and actually get into the main session I wanted to see today which was Live Q&A at SXSW: #AskGaryVee with Gary Vaynerchuk - ‘GaryVee’ is one of the world’s leading marketing experts, I find his talks really interesting with actionable advice.

Tip: Go and watch some of his talks or #AskGaryVee on YouTube. He also has several bestselling books.

After more queue issues…

I attended a session hosted by CEO of WP Engine, Heather Brunner, about moving Toward a More Personalized Web. The key points were:

  • Make your customer experience strategy your digital strategy
  • Invest in a single view of the customer
  • Create more personalized experiences for each customer
  • Experiment with different techniques to engage, listen and learn
  • Act with gratitude and integrity across all your touchpoints

Final session of the day

Design Sprints are new to me, but I’ve heard a lot of chatter about them so decided to go and watch Design Sprints: Solving Design/UX Problems Fast hosted by former Design/UX Director for TIME Magazine, Adam Perlis.

It’s a 6 step methodology to solve and test user experience problems in just 5 days. He went through the 6 steps:

  • Discovery
  • Sketch/Wireframe
  • Design
  • Prototype
  • User Testing
  • Learn & Repeat OR Develop and Launch

and he also gave an example on how Airbnb have used design sprints to step up with their business to now make it the second most valuable startup in the US. An interesting area that seems to be gaining traction. I can see why.

It wasn’t ALL tech talk after tech talk…

The makers of Better Call Saul are in town for SXSW promoting the new season and as part of this, there is a pop up Los Pollos Hermanos. No sign of Gus Fring though.

More tomorrow for Day 2 of SXSW Interactive 2017. You can follow me @digitaltob or Red Spark Digital @redsparkdigital on twitter.

--

--

Terry O'Brien
Red Spark Digital

Web Consultant and Director of Red Spark Digital. Founder of inspireflyer.com - #buildwithskyscanner finalist