Meet the CBS team series: Gard!

Rebecca Madeleine Bushby
RedCrossCBS
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2019

The CBS team consists of six people; four team members in Oslo and two in Nairobi. As we work with most of our volunteers online, we thought it would be nice for you to know who we are, and put faces to our names.

Here is an introduction of Gard, our super-developer based in Oslo!
(Picture below: Gard in the front, former tech lead Samson in the back)

My name is Gard and I’m the “new guy” (been here for a little while but I still feel a bit like the child) on the CBS team. I’m a full stack developer and as of now I’m the only developer working on the project full time. I wanted to be a part of this team because I wanted to do something that really matters, not just to me but to everyone!

In my experience as a developer it has not been that easy finding projects that matter in other ways than generating some solid revenue for someone, somewhere. And while there are lots of cool projects out there, this is why I was looking towards humanitarian ones.

So when I found CBS I was very happy because I think it’s both a really cool project and also very important to a lot of people. A perfect match! And now I’m part of this great team (honestly, not kissing any asses here) and looking forward to creating an impact.

One of the coolest things about this project is the fact that it is open source and the potential community of contributors is huge. Community based surveillance created by the community, that’s pretty cool!

I have a dream … like someone once said. Writing this makes me feel revolutionary!

Well, in all seriousness, I hope everyone who finds this interesting will contribute so that we can all help each other out and make the world a better place.

--

--