New year, new blog, new ex-co

Stephanie Hazejager-Sng
reddottersqatar
Published in
5 min readMar 22, 2017

--

Welcome to RedDotters Qatar’s (RDQ) new online space!

This is the first entry of many to come. RDQ’s vision is to embody the spirit of Singapore’s vibrant culture and identity for Singaporeans and communities in Qatar. Thank you for visiting this page. We hope you find what we share useful to you! —RDQ EX-CO 2017

11 years and counting

A social club is a club based around a common interest, culture and/or background. RedDotters Qatar which has been around for a good number of years, has helped us Singaporeans, citizens and PR’s, navigate in the foreign waters of Qatar. But a group of like-minded people isn’t a club without the help of a few key individuals to steer it.

Before I continue further, I would like to thank our previous committees for their help in “pulling the club strings” along so far.

Chinese New Year 2017 celebration organised by RDQ 2016/2017 committee.

Introducing RDQ Ex-co 2017

2017 is going to be better, we hope! It is our good fortune to have a bigger committee to help run RDQ. The plan is to have more activities, better communication, more interaction, better understanding of this foreign soil we call home. Let me introduce your new ‘shipmates” that will guide us along this journey.

RDQ 2017 Committee (from right to left, front to back) — Talib, Sharyfie, Zahrin, Intan, Nina, Stephanie, Webster, Gangka and Rafia

Sharyfie

RDQ 2016/2017 President a.k.a Red Ranger

A 5-year endurer of the intense Qatari heat. Indulges in a passionate exchange about design with his cat every night. Karak is his choice of drink for all celebrations. A FIFA champion on PlayStation.

I work in a family business doing interior design & construction. Am the red ranger in RDQ, and hopes to encourage a close ‘gotong-royong’ community of Singaporeans here in Qatar.

Stephanie

RDQ 2017 Vice President a.k.a The Rock

Just 1.6 months now in Qatar. Here with my Dutch husband, a 10-year old golden retriever and empty nested. My two girls are studying in universities in the UK. Left Singapore in 1993 and have lived in The Netherlands, the UK and KL since then. A jack of all trades — love most forms of music, used to play the piano (now rusty as hell), singing and acting, movie buff, certain sports like golf, food (who in Singapore is not a foodie, tell me!?), art (an artist on oils and glass), craft,……..

My role here is of Vice President. Not sure what that entails really, but I’m here to lend support, hence “The Rock” nickname from Webster, connect those who venture here and hopefully make the transition a little easier. Believe me, I’ve been in your position numerous of times.

Talib

RDQ 2017 Treasurer a.k.a Money-man

I have been in Qatar since November 2016 so I’m relatively new here. I came to this region in search of new experience, both personally and professionally. I am still unsure what I miss the most about Singapore apart from the obvious (family), but I’m sure I’ll find out once I’m fully settled here.

Gangka

RDQ 2017 Secretary a.k.a Les Eventualist

5 months in Qatar. Secondary school Mathematics and English teacher back home and am still finding for a permanent job in High Schools here.

I love spreading the love for Mathematics among my students (and adults, at times).I hope to build new friendships and help Singaporeans who wish to settle in Qatar, in the near future, have a smooth transition via RDQ’s events.

Zahrin

The Mechanic

A father of 3. Stepped foot in Qatar since 2006. I’m passionate about shrimps, motorcycles and power naps.

There are too many reasons to list down why I am part of RDQ. Among those is that I’m curious to know if this committee is a vehicle we use to connect other Singaporeans in Qatar, what makes the 10 year old RDQ engine works internally. Does it require COE renewal?

Intan

Adventursaurus

A year in Qatar, but never physically around for the fun stuff. Secretly a cat: short attention span, enjoys cuddling in moderation, eat 10 snacks a day and you’ll find Intan curled up in my bed when she is not out exploring.

I am the Adventurer in RDQ, but no matter how far and wide I travel, Singapore and her people are home.

Nina

Overseer

7 years in Qatar with my family (husband, 3 children and 2 cats). Nina was also a RDQ president back in the day. Her background is teaching and is currently in her final month of her post-graduate course in Counseling.

I love music, interacting with people and exploring things I’m unaware of. My role in RDQ is to help connect and strengthen the Singaporean community.

Webster

Digital Advocado

1.5 years in Qatar. Designer and digital transformation advocate.

I work in an e-commerce solutions company to help local SMEs grow their online business. I enjoy good company and good food, I love it best when this happens together in the desert! My role in RDQ is to build community through using technology to establish better connections.

Rafia

Long-term Bedouin

Been in Qatar for only slightly over 2 years with my husband and 2 sons but it feels like I have been here forever. Especially so after spending previously about 5 years in Bahrain — a very similar place….

I love travelling and exploring new places, sports and food are my passion. Hope to be able to contribute my enthusiasm and energy to the RedDotters.

Red-dotting since 2006

On a final note to fellow members and newcomers, this club needs it’s members. We can only do so much but with your input and help, your stay could be a more comfortable and enjoyable one. Please feel free to drop in ideas of what you’d like to have happen.

Well, there you have it! Welcome here and all to 2017 and what’s to come!

To follow our activities, stay tuned to our Facebook group at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/reddottersqatar/

The 2017 RDQ Ex-Co members are also the page admins. Reach out to us if you have any enquires.

--

--