I asked my mom, How is it like being a women?

Shreyash Bohara
Redefine Masculinity
2 min readDec 24, 2017

Earlier this year I applied to be a speaker for TEDxPSU (TEDxPenn State University) and for that I got into the second round and I had to give a speech. My topic was sexual assault and how survivors mental health is affected.

In the process of preparing my speech, I asked my mom this question,

How is it like being a women?

This is what my mom told me,

Being a women, you had to decide either you follow the rules of the society or you break them and live a personal life. And on top you have the fear of being assaulted or harassed.

Now I would like to offer the audience here a challange, ask a women who you are close to, maybe mom, sister, girlfriend or whoever,

How is it like being a women?

My Mom also said,

The way you need blood in your body to live, the same way you need women in our society to run. — Tweet this!

I am not saying that life as women is super hard, but its good to have this conversation.

Because as a we need to know and as man I don’t have to worry about a lot of issues that women go through.

Here is my speech from the competition

Please put your responses/comments/suggestions, I’d love to read them.

Say Hello 👋🏽 on:

LinkedIn | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

--

--

Shreyash Bohara
Redefine Masculinity

Hey I'm Shreyash. I enjoy filmmaking, storytelling and talking to people. Connect with me on Twitter and Facebook @shreyashbohara