An Introduction to TheGlint

Damian Madray
TheGlint
Published in
5 min readSep 12, 2014

--

TheGlint is a society that accelerates & celebrates creatives. We aspire to shift the concept of heroism from historical warrior ideals to the acts of entrepreneurs, artists, scientists and other creatives. We focus on a new paradigm of culture, creativity, collaboration and innovation amongst
these groups.

Salons

TheGlint designs experiential salons that facilitate meaningful conversations. It is our belief that through conversations we can connect on a deep and profound level as humans.

The best ideas start as conversations.
Jonathan Ive

Photos

What Guests Say

I’m still completely mind-blown. It was by far one of the best events that I’ve been to in SF. Everything was just perfect. I met some REALLY cool people.
Omid Scheybani

I wanted to say a big thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this inspiring event. People were amazing, I can’t even describe what the talks and idea exchanges with Patty, Thatcher, Sam and all the others moved in me. It was an important night for me, since I’m currently thinking about where to head for next and how to incorporate more creativity into my life.
Nina Matzat

Magical evening with amazing people. Perfect mix of mystery, education, inspiration and fun! Loved the violinist Dave Kim in the end!
Mai-Li Hammargren

During my first few weeks in San Francisco, I made the mistake of attending an evening organized by The Glint. It ruined me. My bar is now set way too high, and well, other ‘experiential’ evenings in the city have been disappointing to say the least.

So what was TheGlint to me? It was an evening full of conversations with the most radical minds, a canvas of an asymmetrically balanced collection of unassumingly talented performers. Your conventions are shredded to pieces. Attended by open-minded and curious minds, everyone is embracing and warm.

I should also add that I’m a granny who gets to bed by 10:30pm. I thought I wouldn’t make it through the evening, but I ended up being the last person to leave, just before dawn. Lastly, I confess that as an experience designer myself, I was salivating over the details of the unseen. Prop placements, transitions throughout the evening and food selection. Top notch.

So all of this is to say, don’t get spoiled by TheGlint, ignorance is bliss.
Aisha Sheikh

Our performance at TheGlint was among our most intimate & communicative sets of music ever, thanks to the open environment created by the other art & conversations of the evening. It felt as though the audience was inside of it with us, breathing it in… actually it felt like there was no divide between audience & performance.

Doralice

Founders

TheGlint was founded by Damian Madray two years ago with Alexandros Pagidas and Charles Lee. Today, Damian is the only active founder who’s exploring ways to build TheGlint as was originally intended.

Press Publications

The entire maker and crowdfunding movements, as well as “innovation communes” such as TheGlint, theRainbow Mansion, and the Memento Factories, can be seen as fundamental acts of creative resistance to business as usual.
Fast Company

New York Times, , Huffington Post, The Bold Italics,
Slate, Financial Times, Grist

Articles

Connecting Through Creativity and Vulnerability
The Journey to “Redesigning Heroism” Continues

Inquiries

For more information, press inquiries or interviews, please contact @itstheglint on Twitter.

--

--

Damian Madray
TheGlint

Chief Experience Officer, @imwithpresence. @500startups Alum.