Meet the ReDI volunteers

Isabelle Köhncke
ReDI School of Digital Integration
2 min readMay 15, 2020
–Photo: Sebastian Mayer (best friend)

Name: David

I was born in: Austin, Minnesota, USA

I have worked as: Founder, Chief Creative Officer, Managing & Creative Director, Conceptual UX, UI & HMI Designer, sometimes also a Copywriter or, last option: Graphic Designer & Illustrator

I volunteer in… the Digital Career Program in Berlin since February 2020

I decided to volunteer at ReDI… because I love what I do, love teaching, wanted to participate more with my community and learn stuff from people in a new type of institution that seems pretty cool.

The ReDI onboarding was surprisingly better organised than most schools I’ve taught at and the pool of volunteers from our first orientation meetup impressed me greatly. Super smart, successful mentors from around the world that wanted to mentor others or help teach what they knew, any way they could.

1 surprising fact about me … My alias is Da5d since 1996. Since 2014 I also sometimes use Dark Princess, after my office manager started calling me a princess. I kinda like that.

My best advice to ReDI students … Listen. Ask Questions. Laugh a lot. Try to understand your inspirations. Finish it. Laugh again. Do over.

My request for the next ReDI Karaoke Song is… Very late at night in NYC Studio.

5 quick tips during Corona:

Film/Series:

  • Unorthodox
  • Ozark
  • The Lighthouse
  • Jojo Rabbit:

Books:

  • Gottes Werk & Teufelszeug –John Irving
  • Masse und Macht (Crowds & Power) –Elias Canetti
  • Permanent Record –Edward Snowden
  • Drive your Plow over the Bones of the Dead –Olga Tokarczuk
  • Flights –Olga Tokarczuk

Playlists:

Podcasts:

Stuff:

Reading books all the time, Finding good music, Finding good art, Stealing art, Learning musical instruments (still trying to learn guitar and ukelele) Learning new software (Blender, Unity, Figma) Trying to Skateboard (Street and Parks), Running, Tennis in ghetto courts, Snowboarding, Skiing, Surfing, Paddleboarding, Golfing, Wrestling, etc., etc…

--

--