Meet the ReDI volunteers

Isabelle Köhncke
ReDI School of Digital Integration
2 min readMay 14, 2020

(First) Name: Fernando

I was born in..South Brazil (Santo Angelo)

I work as.. Sr. DevOps Engineer

I volunteer in the…DevOps and Cloud courses in Munich since 2019.

I decided to volunteer at ReDI because… teaching and sharing is somehow in my “DNA”. My mom was a teacher for more than 30 years and I always liked to share knowledge and contribute with the development of others, it is an amazing experience to teach and see the students evolving and improving themselves.

1 surprising fact about me… If I weren’t in IT I would be an archaeologist or historian. Ancient civilizations amaze me and I can be very annoying in museums as I spend a long time there, so people with me tend to get bored. Ah, I also love antique fairs and flea markets.

My best advice to ReDI students…(epic background music): DO NOT GIVE UP! It might be hard, you might not understand the content for the first, second, third time, there might be people telling you that it is too difficult, you are too old, you did not have proper education, DO NOT LISTEN! If this is in your heart, if it is your dream to pursue a career in tech, do not give up, work harder, get support, make friends that have same goals as you and push you forward. The world is full of opportunities, even on these uncertain times.

I stay motivated during the lockdown by watching series and movies, reading and spending time with my hobbies (old maps, stamps and coins collecting).

5 quick tips during Corona:

  • Movie / Series:

Series:

  • Vikings
  • The Last Kingdom (based on Bernard Cornwell books)
  • Breaking Bad
  • Better Call Saul
  • Kingdom
  • The Big Bang Theory
  • IT Crowd
  • Movies:
  • The Pursuit of Happiness
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • 2001: A Space Odyssee
  • Braveheart

Books:

  • The Innovators, Walter Isaacson
  • All books from Bernard Cornwell (historical fiction)
  • 100 Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Music: bands: Lacuna Coil, Walk in Darkness, Faun, OMNIA, Cellar Darling
  • Podcast: AWS Podcast

--

--