Let The Readers Read

I’ve removed most of my stories from behind the paywall.

Sreese
Reese — For The Record
3 min readMay 1, 2023

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I’ve been on a break from Medium for a while. I’m down to one or two articles a month now. I haven’t quit writing; I just slowed down and didn’t publish everything I wrote.

I made $2.87 through the partner program this month and wrote only one story. I haven’t made much more than that monthly on Medium in almost a year. I don’t think the $2.87 is enough to make my writing on this platform exclusive.

So I decided to take most of my stories from behind the paywall. For those of you who don’t have a Medium account, it means you can read those stories (and this one) without having an account. Some remain behind the pay wall, but not those that I want open to non-members and those that I find most valuable (Non-monetarily) for one reason or another.

If you don’t want to subscribe or have an account, it’s fine with me, however…

But the bottom line is I want people to be able to read my stories.

The bottom line is I want people to be able to read my stories.

I’m not big on exclusivity and never expected to make much money on Medium anyway. The $2.87 this month doesn’t make or break me.

I write because I believe I have something to say to help, entertain, or inform a reader. I joined Medium because it was a place where readers of all types would read my writing.

Don’t get me wrong, you can read a LOT more stories on Medium if you’re a member. There are about 200,000 writers, millions of stories, and no limit to the number of topics to read about. I just saw one blogger refer to it as YouTube for writers.

C’mon, you want to subscribe, don’t you? Click on my link above.

Medium members and writers, including but not limited to MarkfromBoston, Scot Butwell, Mike Butler, The Sturg, Scott Younkin, Andrew Gaertner, Emile R., Carolyn McBride, Suzanne Pisano, Reece Reid,Jameson Steward, Lu Skerdoo, KiKi Walter, Scot Butwell, Rodrigo S-C, Judy Derby BSc., Adrienne Beaumont, David Perlmutter, David Rudder, let me know what you think about the idea of removing old stories from the partner program.

I don’t know when the little yellow “Members-Only” things started showing up, but it was after I’d stopped averaging a story a week. I don’t make more than a penny or two a month from older stories, so I’m now opening them up to anyone who might run across them. I’ll sacrifice that $10 annual passive income on those older stories that still might have value to non-members.

--

--

Sreese
Reese — For The Record

Western New Yorker, musician, construction supply chain veteran, memoirist, never say never-ist. Top Writer in Sports and 2x Top Writer in Music.