Do You Still Use Your Ex’s Netflix Account?

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2020

By Anabel Pasarow

Raise your hand if you’ve ever used your partner’s parents’ HBO Go log-in. Or Netflix, maybe? And then — keep your hand raised if you’ve kept that username/password combo logged into your computer for long after your breakup. Breaking up is hard to do, and harder still when you share an Amazon Prime account.

So we wanted to know: Do you still use an ex’s log-in info? How ‘bout an ex’s dad’s new wife’s daughter’s? Read on for seven firsthand accounts of the messiness that can ensue when Netflix and chill becomes Netflix…alone.

Liz

Location: Denver, CO
Account: My friend’s ex-boyfriend, HBO Go

In a nutshell, my friend dated a guy for about three months and he’d given her his HBO Go password. She ended up sharing it with about six other friends. I overheard her giving it to a buddy one day at a BBQ and basically chastised her into handing it over. We used it for over THREE years, but when Game of Thrones started heating up we’d periodically get a message around 7 p.m. on Sunday that there were too many devices streaming. Sadly it all came to an end this year. Ex-boyfriend, if you’re out there, thanks for the memories.

Sarah

Location: Boston, MA
Account: Ex-boyfriend, Amazon Prime

I accidentally ended my 5+-year relationship via Amazon Prime! We were “on a break” and were meeting back up after a month apart to discuss how we were feeling. I knew I wanted to break up, so I decided to try to cut any ties before that meeting — logging out of his Netflix, etc. Last stop was Amazon Prime, where I was a member of his household. I chose the option to remove myself from his household, and immediately got an email notifying me of the change. The wording of that email made me freak out that he received a similar email…and true enough, I got a text from my ex a few minutes later about the email. He saw the writing on the wall and I broke it off with him over the phone that night. Word to the wise — maybe wait to disconnect yourself until AFTER you talk to the person!

Amanda

Location: San Francisco, CA
Account: My ex boyfriend’s parents’ HBO GO

I used my ex boyfriend’s parents’ HBO GO account for at least six years after we broke up. I’m not sure whether or not they noticed, but the password stopped working right before the last season of Game Of Thrones.

Laura

Location: Sydney, Australia
Account: My ex’s Netflix

I use my ex’s account from three years ago. I don’t know if he still knows, but he’s changed the name of the account from mine to Kate, so I’m not sure if someone called Kate is also using it and doesn’t realise I am too. The mystery person has their own ‘my list’ of shows, which does screw my algorithm sometimes, and I’m tempted to finish stuff they’ve been watching just to mess with him.

Anupreet

Location: Detroit, MI
Account: My best friend’s ex-boyfriend’s dad/brother’s account

I’ve been using it for the past six years and they have no idea. I always wonder who they think is getting to episodes of Insecure before they are…

Amanda

Location: Nashville, TN
Account: Ex-boyfriend’s Amazon Prime for Prime Video

My ex knew I used it, but my current boyfriend found out about it. He did not like the idea and told me I’m an adult and I should just get my own. I refuse to pay Amazon that much when I hardly use it (just a couple shows every now and then). Randomly one day my ex decided to change the password on me. I told my current boyfriend about it and he finally broke down and shared his account with me. So I’m still not paying for it, just like I wanted. Still not sure what happened with my ex changing his password though.

Allison

Location: New York, NY
Account: My ex’s baby momma’s Netflix account

No, I don’t know how either of them haven’t realised yet, and it’s been a year.

Originally published at https://www.refinery29.com

--

--

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29

The leading global media company focused on young women. We inspire, entertain, and empower our audience through optimistic and diverse storytelling.