I Dyed My Brown Hair Bright Blue For Summer & I Have No Regrets

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29
Published in
4 min readMay 4, 2021

--

By Jacqueline Kilikia

Before

I am notoriously unadventurous when it comes to my hair. The most ‘drastic’ switch-up I’ve ever made was getting my medium-length tresses cut into a very short, blunt bob, and while it was a welcome change, various coronavirus restrictions meant I had to let it grow out entirely. They say you always want what you can’t have and with salons closed for what felt like an eternity, I began imagining myself rocking all manner of Instagram-worthy hairstyles. The shullet ( shag meets mullet), curtain bangs and feathered layers all featured in my imagination as I geared up for my post-lockdown chrysalis-to-butterfly moment. But what I wanted most was a serious colour transformation.

Copper, creamy blonde and hazelnut are just a handful of muted yet luxurious shades reigning supreme among those who have attempted DIY dye jobs at home or made sure they were the first ones in the salon this month. I had other ideas, though. Being at home more has allowed me to channel my most authentic self and that means becoming a lot more in tune with my emo roots. Often filed under nostalgia, TikTok proves emo is alive and kicking, and scene culture (emo’s big sister) even more so. Suddenly, it wasn’t enough to reclaim the full eyelid wing and turn up to Zoom meetings in head-to-toe My Chemical Romance merch. I…

--

--

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29

The leading global media company focused on young women. We inspire, entertain, and empower our audience through optimistic and diverse storytelling.