Tips For Making It Through Dry January From People Who’ve Done It

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2021

By Cory Stieg

PHOTOGRAPHED BY REFINERY29

In the past year or so, Dry January has shifted from a cool alternative to setting New Year’s resolutions to something that’s sometimes seen as an annoying self-righteous ritual. But let’s get something straight: Electing not to drink alcohol for a month is a personal decision, one that people should respect regardless of their own feelings about drinking.

And not to mention, Dry January can be really tough for some people! Given that, we asked members of the R29 community to share their Dry January tips, wisdom, regrets, and takeaways. Whether you’ve already committed to a sober month, or are on the fence about starting, use this as a guide for getting through January.

Have a buddy

“Have a buddy! My roommate did the month with me, and it made it much easier because we were holding each other accountable, and could be in it together when we went out.”

– Rachel

I enjoyed the idea of taking control.

“I enjoyed the idea of taking control of something in my life. When I decided to have a drink about four months later, I held a sense of satisfaction that I had an answer to my question: Did I really need a drink to have fun? Answer: no.”

– Elizabeth

I love feeling productive

“Waking up on weekends feeling great was amazing! I loved feeling productive on my weekends.”

– Megan

Say you’re trying to get pregnant

“Saying you’re trying to get pregnant helps stop people from asking why you’re not drinking.”

– Megan

Easy way to try to reduce my anxiety

“I decided to do a dry month because my anxiety was really bothering me, and I know that alcohol/hangovers can be a real trigger for me. I would wake up after a night of drinking with my mind racing, and my entire next day would be spent in a miserable state of anxiety. So, I decided it was an easy way to try to reduce my anxiety.”

– Rachel

First two weeks are the hardest

“The first two weeks are the hardest; the back end of the month is no sweat.”

– Sarah

Don’t make a deal about it

“Don’t make a big deal about it. The bigger of a deal you make it, the more your friends or coworkers will tease you and try to make you break your Dry January.”

– Bella

Don’t go on a bender on February 1st.

“Don’t go on a bender on February 1st! Stick to one to two drinks.”

– Samantha

I missed the ritual

“I mostly missed the occasional glass of wine I would have after work. I missed the taste and the ritual. Also, when other people weren’t supportive or didn’t get it, I found it difficult.”

– Rachel

I actually paid attention to people.

“I liked the satisfaction of achievement. Also, I felt super aware and healthy the entire month, and less bloated all the time because I would have water retention a lot after drinking. I felt more involved at outings because I actually paid attention to people.”

– Amanda

It changed the way my body felt.

“I did Dry January for a lot of reasons: I wanted to save money (I did!) and see how it changed the way my body felt (for the better!).”

– Sarah

I tend to cluster healthy behaviors.

“I have done dry January a few times to save money after the holidays and restart my routine. Like many people, I tend to ‘cluster’ my healthy behaviours. When I don’t drink, I tend to eat healthier, exercise more, and sleep better.”

– Samantha

You save money.

“You save money. I would sometimes get water or order a soda, and learned that if bartenders are busy enough they won’t even bother charging your for a soda.”

– Rachel

Originally published at https://www.refinery29.com.

--

--

Refinery29 UK
Refinery29

The leading global media company focused on young women. We inspire, entertain, and empower our audience through optimistic and diverse storytelling.