My 2015. My Goals.

Vivek Sharma
Reflecting for personal growth
4 min readFeb 25, 2015

At writr we strongly believe in personal growth. A road to growth opens when one has self-realisation. That’s why we developed a simple system for reflection. Reflection enables you to identify peaks and troughs, come up with an action plan, take action and smoothe the intense fluctuations of your life. In the journey of writr we researched different ways to reflect on life and discovered 7 key areas were an effective selection. If you’d like to know more, do read this.

After reading it a few times I was prompted to reflect on the goals that I have been setting for myself for the last 3 years. I realised that most of them could be more effective and lacked direction, a direction that would stop me from fulfilling my purpose.

Hence I decided to use our 7 key areas of focus to set a few goals, live a whole life and take steps towards fulfilling my purpose. The best way to hold yourself accountable and achieve goals is to share them. That is why I decided to publish them as a blog post. This is my first post for 2015 but it won’t be my last since it is one of my 7 goals this year, and at writr our 7 key areas, our 7 elements, make up who we are, and what we do.

New Partnerships

Relationship

I missed the opportunity to network and expand in 2014. This year my goal is to find 3 successful entrepreneurs who share my vision, passion and core values. I learnt a lot of things for a first time entrepreneur, what not to do, and there is still alot to learn in this space. The right thing to do is hard to find but I believe networking will help me, my team and writr grow.

Write more, Learn more

Meaning

I read often but I don’t publish often. I published one post in 2014. This year is dedicated towards widening my knowledge in different areas and improving my writing skills through writing for people other than myself. Publishing a post a month is what I am striving for this year. I look forward to completing this.

Social Entrepreneur

Path

One of my objectives this year is to grow writr as a profitable social enterprise. There is nothing more satisfying than being able to add value to people’s lives. To do so I need to take a leap from being a part-time to a full-time social entrepreneur. I have a 500K milestone to achieve to establish myself as a full-time social entrepreneur.

Reading to be mindful

Spiritual

I mostly read business books and biographies of leaders. The purpose of my reading is primarily to become a better leader. This year I have decided to read beyond my usual selection and for a different purpose. My objective is to read 3 books that presents ideas and introduces compassionate and mindful people. Firstly, I am a human being so why not become a better one.

Please feel free to suggest books to me @IdeaPadMe or vivek@getwritr.com

Healthier me

Body

I am a healthy person, however I can be fitter and also kinder to my body. The objective for me this year is to reduce my sick days to less than 5. The challenge for me has always been keeping myself physically active over winter and this is the pattern I am going to break. Yoga, walking and cycling are the avenues that I have chosen and are currently available to me.

Healthier lifestyle

Time

Having a garden in your backyard is a privilege. We in New Zealand are extremely lucky that we have reasonable sections that enable us to plant fruit trees and vegetables. I seldom spend time in my garden looking after what we plant. I had limited my role to digging holes. I have decided to spend at least 30 minutes of my discretionary time in the garden. The purpose is to learn about unfamiliar areas, get closer to nature and enjoy the fruits of the hard work.

500K

Finance

Raise $500K funds for writr and use it to generate $500K revenue in 2015 while helping people build better lives is the largest objective I have assigned myself. This poses a lot of opportunities and challenges. This is a path that will lead me to my vision of building profitable social entreprises. We want to help as many as we can and I am not going to shy away from asking people to be part of the journey and take people from other platforms on a journey of reflection and personal growth.

You can help me build a better life too, come with us.

--

--

Vivek Sharma
Reflecting for personal growth

Founder of writr, @getwritr. Helping people build better lives. @vivek_nz