Photography credit: Annie Spratt-Unsplash

Do You Care for YOU?

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
1 min readOct 9, 2022

--

A poison ivy rash had developed on my hand which, if treated with a simple application of homemade lye soap, would stop itching and disappear within days. As time went by and I neglected to apply the soap, the rash became angry looking, spreading up my arm.

One day, while visiting our local library, I noticed that Bill, a volunteer there, had also developed a case of poison ivy. The rash on his arms and legs was blistering badly. Feeling intense sympathy for his plight, I promised to drive home, get the special soap for him and return so that he could immediately apply it. The horrible itching would stop and he would begin healing.

Isn’t it interesting that we jump quickly to help someone else when, for ourselves, we procrastinate, allowing our own bodies to suffer….

Since God has given us our body to use as an instrument to serve Him, then it is our responsibility to be good stewards of it until He returns.

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, which you have from God? — I Corinthians 6:19

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!