Do YOU Play God?

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
3 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Photography credit: Davide Cantelli — Unsplash

Playing God is a bad habit!

Recently a friend asked me to keep an eye open for any vacancies in some apartments I know about. If one became empty, I was to let him know. He wanted to move into the smaller village from a nearby busy city and into that particular apartment complex.

Eventually an apartment opened up so I debated about letting him know so that he could apply.

My thoughts looked something like this:

Well, I told him once before but he wasn’t considered.
He seems to have made a home where he is, overlooking the city.
I’m sure he has made many friends where he lives.

On an on my thoughts went, deciding for him that, no, he wouldn’t want to move.

On the other hand,

He did ask me to keep my eyes open for him.
His family lives nearby in the village.
His aging parents live only 15 min. away.

I decided to STOP playing God and send him an email informing him of the vacancy, letting HIM decide what God wanted him to do.

Moving or not, it is in God’s hands and out of mine. I did what my friend asked and it was out of my hands.

Did I learn my lesson?

Another friend recently lost her husband. She paid me a visit sounding quite resolved. She wanted to move and knew right where she wanted to be. She no longer felt safe where she is. She wanted to move back to her hometown where she had a sister still living, a niece and nephew nearby.

My initial response was to ‘play God’ by encouraging her to make the move.

My actual response to her: “Yes, I will be praying for you!”

I didn’t pressure her one way or another.
I didn’t call her son to discuss this with him.

I placed the entire situation in God’s hands because

God is God and I am not.

For the Lord is our Judge, The Lord is our Ruler, The Lord is our King…. Isaiah 33:22 AMP

Thank you for reading. If you want to read more, please subscribe.

If you want to be added to my list, please let me know. If you want your name deleted, please also let me know.

Julie KingGood Sharon Meyers, Ed.D. Nikita Rayne Johnson Susie Winfield Lu Skerdoo Paula Thomas Kathy Minicozzi Vicky Hughes Lori Motto Dixie Dodd Brooklyn shakespeare Dennis Lastimoso J.M. Troppello JR Lightstein @Trisha Fay Cheryl Wilding Michael Hollingsworth David Knott Grace Bianco Jenny Calvert Elizabeth Clark Adele Arbi Gerald Washington ImoThoughts Emily jones Piotrmak Marko JR Lightstein Cheryl Watson Debra Anazonwu John Blackwell Cheri Read Chris Raymond Autistic Widower ("AJ") Mary McGrath Jan Sebastian 🖐👩‍🦰 Learner101 Boateng Sekyere Jona Daye Author Emily @

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!