Phtography credit: WJ Zim — Unsplash

GIGGLES IN RETIREMENT

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
2 min readAug 10, 2022

--

For 10 years I enjoyed my retirement days, filling them with an assortment of activities, one of which was to research and write a book. Then a move came about. Then more writing, crocheting, acrylic painting, photography, patio gardening and….

My days and evenings were FULL and, by the end of the day I was tired!

Yet my son, who was working full time with a 45 minute commute morning and night, would tease me day after day saying, “What do you DO all day? You don’t DO anything.”

He didn’t have a clue what my retirement days were about.

Then, due to a strange set of circumstances, HE retired at age 50.

What did I hear then? “Mom, I’M SO SORRY I made those comments! Not only am I busy but I wake up every morning with a ‘sports related’ injury.” His knees were bothering him. His elbow was sprained.

He soon learned what retirement days look like . His life was now busy with projects that couldn’t be completed due to time constraints during working days, he had appointments with the doctor and a visit to the lab. He also had to explore more art adeas for his online business. He would comment each night on how TIRED he was from having such a BUSY day.

I just sat quietly and giggled.

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!