Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
3 min readApr 28, 2022

--

KEEP A TIME LOG — ARE YOU KIDDING?

Photo. credit: Dawn Ulmer

In previous posts, I’ve discussed stepping off the merry-go-round and that if we don’t change our hurried lifestyle, the problem becomes chronic which gets worse over time. The Quiz pinpointed some possible problem areas. We’ve discussed whether we are juggling or balancing our lives and we’ve discussed the eleven reasons why we hurry.

Let’s turn our attention deeper now to even more specifics.

When we find ourselves picking up speed and the stress begins to build, that’s a perfect opportunity to take a longer look at what is happening in our lives. One excellent way to discover how we use our time is by keeping a time log, whether on paper or online. We each have 24 hours per day and, as busy people, we want to use each God-given moment wisely.

You say there is no time to keep a time log?

That’s precisely the point!

When we deny ourselves the time it takes to make our lives better for ourselves and for those whom we love, then our priorities need to be rearranged. A time log can be of great value.

Do something just for yourself this week. Either purchase a small notebook you can carry with you or set up something with one of the many apps available to help you keep a log. For seven days, write down how you spend your time for each of the 24 hours. Remember, you are doing this for yourself so do it as completely and accurately as possible.

At the end of seven days, take some quiet time to look over your time log entries. Ask yourself the following questions:

Am I trying to fit 36 hours worth of work into 24 hours?

Do I have time to take care of necessities (like eating, resting or sleeping) or am I too busy in other areas?

How many hours did I spend at work this week? (Make sure to include the time you spent with work you took home at night and on weekends, including phone calls.)

Does my family get the best hours of my day or only the leftovers?

Is unnecessary time on the phone, on social media or texting (personal or business use) chewing up precious minutes?

Are there spaces in my day which allow me time to think ahead and to plan for the next day, the next week?

Do I allow any time for myself each day to relax and unwind?

Do I have one day per week I can use to rest, relax and be rejuvenated?

Am I allowing myself enough time to get a full night’s sleep so I awake refreshed?

How does your time log look?

“You make known to me the path of life;
You will fill me with joy in Your presence,
with eternal pleasures at Your right hand.”
Psalm 16:11

Editor, publisher, writing instructor. Author of “Balance for the Hurried Woman”, specializing in scriptural teaching, time management and health issues. Contact deuwriter333@gmail.com.

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!