Photography by the author

LESSONS Learmed From the GARDEN

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
1 min readSep 19, 2022

--

Through the years, I have thoroughly enjoyed planning a garden starting in January, digging in the dirt, planting seeds, watching them sprout and grow…and grow…and grow!

For some reason, I enjoyed the entire process, I just could NOT bring myself to harvest a single vegetable.

I would feel gentle nudges to get out there and just do it — harvest NOW, yet I just could not. The vegetables would sit, become unusable and I would plow them back into the ground. All to be repeated the very next year.

I KNEW harvest needed to be done but I just could NOT.

One year my family and I moved to a living history park. I volunteered to create a garden.

I removed the sod from the area and then then began the magic.
Again, I planned and, using heritage seeds, planted the garden.

Of course, I could NOT bring myself to harvest a single bean, tomato, ear of corn or….

How perfect, I now learned!

I was great at making a ‘display garden’, not an edible garden. How perfect for a living history garden!

The pumpkins that year were beauties!

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!