On a Summer Day Long Ago

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
2 min readJun 22, 2023

--

Photography credit: Dawn Ulmer

Just Picture This:

It was a hot, humid, sticky and uncomfortable Pennsylvania day in the middle of summer in the 1950s. My Dad offered to take me swimming at the Loyalsock, a place he loved since boyhood when he used to jump off the nearby bridge into the refreshing river.

Into the car we went, my Mom and baby sister were left at home.

It wasn’t too far to travel. I distinctly remember driving through the cornfields on either side of the car.

I love corn fields to this day with that memory still strong! With windows wide open (there was no air conditioning in those days), I can still smell the sweet, intoxicating aroma of the growing stalks. With their toes tucked into the soil, they stood straight and tall, standing guard along the road.

Finally, we arrived, climbed out of the car to find a spot on the crowded beach. There was no white smooth sand, but ROCKS. My tender feet rebelled but I did hop into the water where the sand was smooth and comforting.

I can remember my Dad trying to teach me to swim — the dog paddle. Nope, I couldn’t do it although I tried again and again.

He decided to head toward the bridge…as I was left on the ‘beach’, I was so scared for him and for myself. What if he got injured? What would I do??? I would be an abandoned child, left all alone not knowing where I lived or how to get there.

Eventually, he made it back alive. Relief came in like a flood.

It was time to head home.

There were no wet bathing suits allowed in the car so we each used old Army ponchos to cover up while we wiggled out of our bathing suits and into dry clothing. After a day in the sun and by the water, I was TIRED.

Thus ended a memorable day of NOT swimming but just enjoying being with my Dad.

Thank you for reading, clapping and commenting!

If you would like to added or deleted from my list, please let me know.

Susie Winfield Deb Palmer Vicky Hughes Lori Motto Sharon Meyers, Ed.D. Dixie Dodd Helen Gilmore Brooklyn shakespeare Nikita Rayne Johnson Anna Svetlik De La Rosa Gurpreet Dhariwal Cheryl Wilding John Blackwell Shanti C K Indirah Ambrose Manali Jarząbkiewicz Autistic Widower ("AJ") Chris Raymond Julie Ranson Michele Maize Nanette Schieron Jan Sebastian 🖐👩‍🦰 Lacey Dearie Serafina Ben Cohen @Mary McGrath @ Sheila McCall imrana hayat David Sheehan Lisa Boyl-Davis, LICSW PurpleDot💜 Htucker The Gnobble Guy

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!