*Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

Retro Recipe I

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
3 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Photo by Adobe Firefly

Retro means imitative of those things in the past. Thus, this is the first of a series of recipes which I re-discovered in my old recipe box. Each recipe has a history of its use and the memories attached. I hope you enjoy this!

People should eat and drink and enjoy the fruits of their labor, for these are gifts from God. Ecclesiastes 3:13

Recently I mentioned my Homemade Cinnamon Rolls in an article here on Medium. One of my subscribers, Debra Anazonwu, asked for the recipe of these mouth-watering delights.

Here it is, Debra — a departure from my usual writing ventures. Thank you for asking about it!

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls

For years, I would make these for my family and friends. I can remember the first morning I KNEW I was pregnant with my daughter, serving these to a guest who came by my house to visit.

A. 1 cake quick acting yeast
1/8 cup sugar
1/8 cup lukewarm water
Dissolve yeast in the sugar water.

B. 1 egg
1 cup lukewarm milk
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cup of flour
1/8 cup melted shortening
Mix together.

C. Combine A and B for a soft dough.

D. 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 cups flower
Add to A and B.

E. Turn out on to floured board and knead until smooth and elastic without sticking to the board.

F. Place in a well greased bowl and let rise until double in size.

G. Knead down and let rise for 45 minutes.

H. Roll dough to 1/2 inch thick in an oblong rectangle shape.

I. Brush log with melted butter and sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. (White sugar can be substituted for the brown sugar but I prefer brown.)

J. Roll and pinch closed so that the dough resembles a log.

K. Cut into 1 inch pieces segments along the length of the log.

L. Grease a 9X13 cake pan.

M. Mix a syrup of
1 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup margarine
2 tablespoons of corn syrup
1/4 cup water

N. Let cool and then pour into the greased pan.

O. Place cut rolls on top of the syrup.

P. Bake at 375 degrees for 20–25 minutes.

Let stand 5 minutes, invert and SERVE!

I hope you enjoy them!

If you would like to read more from me, please SUBSCRIBE!

Dawn Ulmer, a retired Registered Nurse, has enjoyed writing since the age of 19 when she wrote ‘My Philosophy of Nursing’. After marrying and becoming a mother, she developed a newsletter for young mothers called ‘Moms and Sidekicks’. She has been a columnist for a women’s newspaper in Grand Rapids, Michigan on the subject of time management. From that column, her first book was written and published: “Balance of the Hurried Woman”. Through the years, she has been published in ‘Decision’ magazine, ‘Our Daily Bread’ devotional and other publications. Presently, she is enjoying writing on Medium, her favorite platform.

Also available in an e-book format.

Órla K. Samy Writes 🌸 Alma Curry Doris Rouse Ken Van Camp Mary Papas Sharon Hillam Jemimah Susie Winfield Haley K. Lee Byrd Lu Skerdoo Rosa Diaz-Casal Nikita Rayne Johnson Debra Anazonwu

If you would like to be added or deleted from my ‘special’ list, please let me know.

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!