Saying NO and then YES

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
3 min readOct 2, 2023

--

Is Your Child Oppositional or Happy?

Are YOU Oppositional or Happy?

Photography credit: Pablo Heimptatz — Unsplash

When I was a Mom to a one year old, it seemed like NO was almost
the only word that came out of my mouth. Every. Single. Day.

I listened to myself one day:

No no, don’t throw that toy down the stairs.

No no, don’t eat the toothpaste.

No no, don’t throw your toys in the toilet.

No no, don’t drink the bath water.

On and on it went. Was it any wonder that by the age of two, my
child’s favorite word to say to me was NO!

I thought about it. How did my sweet child all of a sudden become so
negative and oppositional????

Oh.….that was the word that was used so frequently by ME.

I decided to change it up and see how many ways I could use the
word YES from morning to night?

YES, let’s go outside and play in your sandbox.
YES, good job eating your cereal with your spoon.
YES, let’s go to the bookmobile.
YES, well done using your crayons on your coloring page.
YES, I like your kisses and hugs.

MY NO WAS CHANGED TO YES MADE FOR A
HAPPIER CHILD AND MOTHER.

Train up a child in the way he/she should go and he/she won’t depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

Let’s change this up a bit.

How do your speak to YOURSELF?

Are you constantly nagging yourself with negativity?

Do you say:

No, don’t eat that, it will make you unhealthy.

No, don’t wear that, it’s not a good color on you.

No, don’t go there or do that.

No, watch your words so you don’t appear strange.

Isn’t it about time that we spoke POSITIVELY to ourselves?

Let’s speak to the child that still lives within us — with positive, life-giving words.

Fix your thoughts on what is true and good and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely, and dwell on the fine, good things …. Think about all you can praise God for and be glad about. Phippians 4:8

If you would like to read my articles as I post them, please subscribe.

If you would like to be added or deleted from my list, please let me know.

Julie KingGood Lu Skerdoo Sharon Meyers Nikita Rayne Johnson Susie Winfield Rosa Diaz-Casal Greg Smith Dixie Dodd J.M. Troppello Frances A. Chiu Britt H. Trisha Faye Cheryl Wilding Grace Bianco Jenny Calvert Julia Kathryn Elizabeth Clark Emily jones Cheryl Watson Jan Sebastian 🖐👩‍🦰 Kate's 1-Minute Christian Devotionals Katharine Trauger Gurpreet Dhariwal John Blackwell Julie Ranson Chris Raymond Mary McGrath Kristen Taylor - Engaging Drive Rosa Diaz-Casal Diana Meresc Heather Lawrence Kimberly V. Caeona Murdoch Sophia Tell- Stories 🤓📢🤓

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!