I Want to Sleep

By Haiti Partners’ co-director, John Engle

Haiti Partners
Reflections on Life and Work in Haiti

--

This morning the 17 year old daughter of a longtime colleague died. …Betrayal and jealousy.

I WANT TO SLEEP

Our driver Robinson spends five days in a dirty jail cell with 9 others. …Jealousy and betrayal.

I WANT TO SLEEP

A woman comes to our school to scandalize an employee and puts everyone at risk. …Jealousy and betrayal.

I WANT TO SLEEP

A day at police station filing complaint and taking proper measures…a day listening to stories of betrayal and jealousy.

I WANT TO SLEEP

Good people growing and developing. Past bad decisions bring them down.

I WANT TO SLEEP

Two dead bodies on the street not yet covered by sheets. My son Daniel cries hysterically. Trauma from past.

I WANT TO SLEEP

Two steps forward, three steps back…It so often feels like this. Jealousy, betrayal and trauma everywhere I turn.

I WANT TO SLEEP

When will Haiti’s chains be broken? When will we in Haiti be liberated from the jealousy, betrayal and trauma that enslaves us?

I WANT TO SLEEP

I pray for strength. Everywhere around me I witness Haitians not giving up, struggling to make a little money to put some food on the table. Grinding poverty.

I WANT TO SLEEP

A funeral band plays in distance as I write.

SHE FINALLY SLEEPS

Tears flow. Everywhere they flow.

IT’S NOT YET MY TIME TO SLEEP.

There’s work to be done.

--

--