Cooking

Canzhi Ye
journal entries
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2015

This is part of a larger post reflecting upon my summer. You can find that here!

Growing up, I was privileged to have my parents always cook for me. Well, actually more than just cook. They took care of meals from end-to-end — from choosing healthy and tasty foods at the grocery store to putting it on the dining table directly in front of my face. Transitioning to college last fall meant a steep decline from Mom and Dad cooked meals to the repetitive, bland public college cafeteria food. Summer presented me an opportunity: learn to cook and not have to rely on that cafeteria food for the rest college.

I cooked some dinners and actually enjoyed it (except washing the dishes). Avocados, chicken, and eggs were super easy to combine in various yummy ways. I put a couple meals on http://notsoylent.tumblr.com but lacked discipline in keeping it maintained. I liked the feeling of starting with a blank slate and trying to create something both aesthetically pleasing and edible. I kinda felt like an artist. I’m into that stuff.

I love avocados.

--

--