What are your favorite parts of being an entrepreneur?

Here is my answer

Rukshan
Refresh Magazine
2 min readOct 31, 2017

--

Being an entrepreneur is tough, it’s never easy. 90% of the startups fail in their first year, and out of the 10% that survive the first year 90% will fail within first 5 years.

That means when becoming an entrepreneur the odds are always against you. But that doesn’t mean you should be discouraged or you should not try to start your own business.

There are some perks in being an entrepreneur,

You get to be your own boss, you don’t have to answer anyone. You make the decisions that others will follow.

If it goes big, it goes big. Even though you have a high chance of failing if you win you will win big, that’s the nature of the game.

One misconception in being an entrepreneur is that you have to be like Elon Musk or Mark Zuckerberg and you need to invent the next unicorn. That is totally not true, you can be a successful entrepreneur if you’re happy with what you achieve.

Also you should not be an entrepreneur just because of the money or popularity. Today being an entrepreneur is shown as something cool, and although being successful is cool there is lof of effort that goes behind these lives that goes unnoticed.

If you’re wanting to be an entrepreneur then you should be ready to accept these hardships and also be ready to work hard more than the number of hours you have to work in a 9–5 job. If you think of working less than a 9–5 job and be a successful entrepreneur then that is not for you my friend.

One thing that an entrepreneur must lean to enjoy is hard work, you have to love working hard, there are no shortcuts to success.

That being said I’m also not a successful entrepreneur yet, I have tried my luck in different fields but has failed. But that doesn’t mean I am giving up. I have my 9–5 job and I have side project that I try sometimes, maybe they will work may be they will fail, but I will always try my best.

As they say, success is not a destination, it’s a journey.

This is originally posted as an answer on Quora

If you enjoyed reading this story don’t forget to give it a 👏

Also don’t forget to subscribe to the Refresh Daily newsletter here 📧.

--

--

Rukshan
Refresh Magazine

I'm a blogger and I'm interested in technology, startups and making new things. ✌