1 September 2022

20 Things That Make Me Smile

30-Day Writing Challenge #1

Janet Meisel
2 min readSep 1, 2022

--

One of our pair of King Parrots that visits a few times a year. Author’s photo.

1) When my 6’ 2” twin grandsons give me a hug and a peck on the cheek.

2) My spoodle in his new winter jacket.

3) When the king parrots return to our garden

4)When hubby arrives home safe and sound from a gig after driving for three hours straight.

5) When someone acknowledges I was a damn good teacher.

6) Vegetarian pizza from my local pizza shop. Mmmmm.

7) When my very elderly mum (97) cracks a joke.

8) The ‘gotcha’ moment in true crime shows. I’ve been known to ‘woo-hoo’ loudly at the exact moment when they finally ‘break the case wide open.’

9) Oporto veggie burgers with lemon-mayo sauce.

10) Spiced rum with ginger beer; a ‘Dark and Stormy.’

11) The seat warmer in my hubby’s new Mazda.

12) Hearing about my grandsons, Liam and Nick, and their incredible successes in international judo competitions.

13) YouTube videos where pet dogs bond with babies, protect them and sleep cuddling them.

14) Two silver bracelets sent to me from a wonderful friend in Phoenix, USA…

--

--

Janet Meisel

Writer, poet, artist. I found myself here one day, settled in, and so far I don't want to leave. Life is weird, what more can I say?