MINDFULNESS| LIFE EXPERIENCE| REFLECTION

Clarity in Stillness

The lesson in boiling water

Pal_Sanghita
Refresh the Soul

--

[Please click here if you are a non-Medium member!]

No one can see their reflection in running water. It is only in still water that we can see- Taoist Proverb [Image: ©️Pal_Sanghita]

They say you cannot see your own reflection in boiling water. I have been told this innumerable times while growing up.

It was not until this morning that I understood it truly as I stood over a steaming vessel, as I was preparing tea.

The water bubbled furiously, steam rising, shrouding my bespectacled sight of the vessel. My glasses got smudged with water vapor.

My thoughts spun like the water bubbling and the steam fiercely competing in an endless rat race.

I bent over, about to add tea leaves to the pot, when I saw my distorted, broken reflection.

I must have been in this moment countless times before, but it might not have ever gotten to my mind.

I put the tea leaves in, and after a while, they danced and twirled, changing color. I watched them settle down once the boiling water cooled down like my thoughts finding a place to rest.

I bent again instinctively. What did I see?

I saw my reflection — calm, unbroken.

It instantly hit me — clarity is not something you force when you have chaotic thoughts. It comes naturally when you allow stillness.

In quietude.

I sipped my tea and smiled. How something so simple took me decades to understand and internalize!

Do you have the patience to wait
Till your mud settles and the water is clear?
Can you remain unmoving
Till the right action arises by itself?- Lao Tzu

Gratitude Nancy Blackman, MASF for considering my morning muse in your beautiful publication, Refresh the Soul.🙏💖💐

Bombay narrates how she finds happiness and unexplainable coolness in her heart while reciting short prayers from the rooftop of a dorm. Don’t miss out on her beautiful moonbeam haiku.

Photo and post ©️Sanghita Pal, 2024. All rights reserved©️.💐

Thank you for reading. Please feel free to check out my profile. 🙏

I love to write about Nature, Mindfulness, Life, Travel, Architecture, Food, Books, and anything that sparks my curiosity.✨

Stay connected| If you like and enjoy my writing, please subscribe to my stories.

Connect: Email: sanghitapal2@gmail.com| LinkedIn

--

--

Pal_Sanghita
Refresh the Soul

Perennial learner~I find solace in the quiet moments of nature. I cherish dreamy skies and the charm of quaint hilly hamlets. OROPHILE. SELENOPHILE. NEPHOPHILE.