I’m Livin’ on a Prayer

This is how I refresh my soul

Scot Butwell
3 min readDec 10, 2022
Author photo: Taken by my son.

It’s a Saturday morning, and I’m listening to 80’s Rock music.

The powerful guitar chords of Guns N’ Roses in “Sweet Child O’ Mine,” ACDC’s “You Shook Me All Night Long,” and Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ On a Prayer.”

I usually alternate between two rock stations and a Christian station.

I know. A little weird. But I don’t see that much difference in the songs.

Tommy used to work on the docks, union’s been on strike
He’s down on his luck, it’s tough, so tough
Gina works the diner all day working for her man
She brings home her pay, for love, for love

— “Livin’ On a Prayer, Bon Jovi

Tommy and Gina aren’t the only ones livin’ on a prayer.

I am too.

On most days.

You see, that’s how I, as an introvert, handle the challenges of being in a classroom with thirty teenagers every day as a high school English teacher.

Period after period. Day after day. Week after week.

Or decorating the Christmas tree when I come home exhausted.

Being around people all day exhausts me. But, especially as we reach the end of the semester, prayer is one of the ways I refresh my soul.

--

--

Scot Butwell

I am embarrassing according to teenage son. My jokes are terrible and I don't know when to stop annoying my son. I am the dad of an autistic son. A funny kid.