Self-awareness

The Simplest Way I Overcame Rejection and Found Freedom

After years of struggling with rejection, I regret not understanding what I know now sooner

Devansh Tomar
Refresh the Soul
Published in
4 min readMay 31, 2024

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Not a Medium paying member? Read for FREE

Everyone struggles with facing rejection.

I’ve faced it for years. I always took rejection personally on my ego.

We face rejection from jobs, people we like, and friends.

Rejection is still a rejection, wherever it comes from. It still hurts, but the intensity may vary depending on the kind of rejection.

But what changed for me was realizing that my ego is hurt, not me. And as soon as that clicked, I started to understand that overcoming rejection wasn’t that hard — I was just having the wrong perspective.

Here’s what I wish I’d understood sooner:

  1. When someone rejects us, there’s no real threat to us, but our ego feels threatened all the time.

But before we’ve tried to dissolve our ego, we need to know how it takes form.

Our ego isn’t part of us, but we think it is.

The ego exists by identifying with external forms and spaces and identifying with our bodies…

--

--

Devansh Tomar
Refresh the Soul

Engineer turned philosophy student • I write about self-mastery, Inner potential, spirituality & everything I learn while navigating life's depth.