The Trouble With Time

30-Day Writing Challenge #28

Ruby Noir 😈
3 min readSep 28, 2022
Photo by Adeniji Abdullahi A: Pexels

Prompt: If given the choice, which time period (past, present, or future) would you like to live in and why?

This is such a difficult question to answer right now. The present feels a lot like the past, and the future feels frightening.

2020 is a year that I think I can say with certainty no one wants to relive. We all experienced a shift in our reality that year. Not to mention that in the four years of Trump and beyond — we’ve lived an entire history book… well… only the bad parts. And we’re still living it. Plague, depression, police brutality, protests, war, dictatorship, and currently, granddaughters are fighting a battle won by their grandmothers.

I don’t have to be as sick as I am to sometimes wonder what the hell year it really is. I’ve been wondering that since the overturning of Roe V. Wade.

Since the events of January 6th, and other actions taken even before then, I’ve even wondered what country I’m living in.

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Gilead.

There’s no part of history I feel that I’d strongly like to go back to. I like the music my father always played me from the 60s, but if Back To The Future taught us anything it’s that it’s super weird to accidentally run into your own parents in…

--

--

Ruby Noir 😈

14 X’s Top Writer. Vet tech and mom of 6 rescue animals. I speak for those who have no voice.