Uncover the Secret to Overcoming Anxiety the Natural Way

Unlocking the mysteries of our genetic code has never been easier

Tiffany Meredith
Refresh the Soul
5 min readJul 3, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan Cowley from Pexel.com

Have you ever felt that unshakeable sense of worry, just like I did?

Anxiety was a constant companion in my life until my brother-in-law handed me a revelation that changed everything. After doing a 23andMe test, he discovered he had what some call the “worry gene.” This genetic marker, along with high homocysteine (Hcy) levels, often translates to increased anxiety and stress.

It’s astonishing how our genetics can influence our mental health. Studies confirm that elevated homocysteine levels can provoke anxiety, stressing us out over everything from our jobs to our family’s well-being. This is a daily battle for millions — one I knew all too well.

When I realized my anxiety was possibly due to genetics, I didn’t need a test to confirm it. My lifelong struggle led me to make a transformative decision that ushered me into the world of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM).

My Healing Journey

Imagine finding a natural way to heal from debilitating anxiety without the need for prescription medication. That’s exactly what I found in TCM. In Chinese Medicine, worry and anxiety are imbalances of the earth element, which is tied to our stomach and spleen. These organs play crucial roles in our digestion, transforming food into the nutrients our bodies need to function optimally.

By focusing on balancing my earth element, I managed to heal my anxiety profoundly and naturally. Ancient practices like meditation, qigong, herbal remedies, and dietary adjustments worked in harmony to restore my internal balance, making anxiety a thing of the past.

Why You Should Consider Traditional Chinese Medicine

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich from Pexel.com

Modern science is uncovering what Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) has known for thousands of years: anxiety isn’t just triggered by external stresses but is deeply rooted in your body’s physiology. As TCM suggests, the key to overcoming anxiety lies in achieving harmony within your body.

The Concept of Qi: The Vital Life Force

In TCM, the vital life force called Qi (pronounced “chee”) flows throughout your body, maintaining balance and well-being. When this Qi is disrupted or imbalanced, it can lead to various physical and emotional disturbances, including anxiety. The balance of your Qi hinges on the opposing yet complementary forces known as yin and yang. Any imbalance in these forces can manifest as mental and physical ailments.

My Journey: From Anxiety to Alignment

Through TCM, I successfully managed my anxiety and realigned my Qi, restoring a sense of peace and balance in my life. While I am not a medical professional, I am passionate about sharing my journey and the methods that worked for me.

If you struggle with anxiety, these Traditional Chinese Medicine practices may offer you the relief you’re seeking.

Photo by Darina Belonogova from Pexel.com

Meditation

Meditation is the number one branch of Chinese Medicine. Meditation helps stimulate our endocrine or glandular system. The glandular system helps our hormones, which balances our nerves. Studies have shown the only way to balance the Leydig, Pituitary, and Pineal glands is through meditative states. When these glands work correctly, they help calm our nervous system.

I meditate daily, and I will notice a difference immediately in my nervous system when I don’t.

Qigong and Other Types of Movements

This is the second branch of Chinese medicine. This is similar to meditation, but moving the body to keep Qi flowing is important. The funny thing is we don’t need exercises that break a sweat unless you want to. It’s about movement, balance, and flow. Doing these movements is especially helpful if you do them outside to get vitamin D. This helps the overall system of anxiety,

I will alternate my daily exercise, do nature walks one day, Qigong, and guided movement the next. It is helpful for me if I get outside. Nature and the sun help align my body and my nervous system.

Nutrition

Since the earth’s elements rule the stomach and spleen, it’s important to watch your diet. Stay away from refined sugars, processed food, and gluten starches. The best is to be gluten-free. This is true if you have a sensitive digestive tract. When we eat gluten, it can put a gluten lining around our intestinal tract, which makes it difficult for the body to release toxins. We must release toxins to keep our overall Qi flowing, helping the nerves.

Having enough of the right amount of vitamins in the system is essential for Qi to flow. With the worry gene, it shows that the body may be deficient in folate and vitamin B12.

Vegetables with the Earth and Foliate: Turnip greens, spinach, romaine lettuce, asparagus, brussels sprouts, broccoli, beets, carrot, cucumbers, eggplant, mushrooms, cabbage, parsnip, rutabaga, squash, potato and yams

Foods with the Earth and B12: Sea veggies, kidney beans, nutritional yeast, fortified cereals, whole grains, oats, salmon, trout, shellfish, poultry, lamb, beef, liver, and eggs

Fruits with the Earth and Foliate: Bananas, oranges, berries, citrus fruits, apples, apricots, cherries, figs, dates, grapes, papaya, peach, and strawberry.

Earthly Nuts: Chestnut, chia seeds, almond, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut, and walnut.

Please remember that when working to heal the body naturally, you must use these holistic methods for at least 30 days or more to see any changes or patterns within the body.

We are mind, body, and spirit, and it’s important to take care of all three!

Every human being is the author of his health or disease. ~Gautama Buddha~

Blessings from my heart to yours!

If you enjoyed this article, learn more about me and my healings at: www.myzenliving.com

Thank you for the insightful article by Kim Kelly Stamp, The Lost Art of Intuitive Communication. Like you, I am deeply inspired by the pursuit of true honesty and the quest for intuitive conversation. This is a powerful way to encourage healthy relationships — when we listen from the heart.

--

--

Tiffany Meredith
Refresh the Soul

I'm an artist, a mother, a nature lover. Honest writings on my lifelong spiritual journey and how the first 5 branches of Chinese Medicine healed me.