09/13/2022

What Is Your Favorite City in the Whole World?

My Love Belongs To Barranquilla

Jennifer Barrios Tettay
3 min readSep 13, 2022
illustration with Colombia’s colors, a Colombian flag and the flag of Barranquilla
created with canva

The port city of Barranquilla in South America is certainly not the most beautiful city — objectively speaking. It has never been particularly modern or tourist-friendly, nor very clean.

Moreover, it is very hot all year round, hardly bearable during the day. The streets are dusty, the alleys dangerous.

But Barranquilla also shows color! 🙌

Especially during the winter months, when the holidays are approaching, everywhere is festively decorated.

Then Christmas vallenato plays on the radio while the wind plays with the leaves of the palm trees….

photo of Barranquilla
photo by jmsolerb from Wikimedia commons

My husband is from Barranquilla, and that’s where we met for the first time after we got to know each other online.

That was not long after my depressive phase, and I simply enjoyed being so far away from Germany. Far away from all responsibilities and duties.

I think I had almost forgotten what it means to be happy. But when the lukewarm night air brushed my skin during our walks and the loud musical rhythms from the streets accompanied our steps, I felt so light.

There were no more worries, doubts, or fears, only the magic of the moment.

photo of Barranquilla
photo by jmsolerb from Wikimedia commons

And the streets were always so busy!
Quite different from here in Germany.

Actually, as an introvert, I would avoid crowds. But there I did not mind. So great was the feeling of inner peace.

And everywhere there were stands with culinary offers! And with delicious food, you quickly win my heart. 🤍

If I had to describe paradise, those evening trips to the inner city would probably come to mind first.

“My Baby also had great fun in Barranquilla”
created with canva; photo by author

💬 Which is your favorite city? And why?

Share it in the comments!

I am from Germany. So all I can give you are a few survival tips for our country in the heart of Europe:

👉 7 Foolproof Tips for Traveling and Surviving in Germany

This was my 13th contribution to the 30-Day Writing Challenge by Nancy Blackman in Refresh the Soul. Thank you, Nancy!

--

--