Faith

If you don’t have it, you can’t understand it. And if you do, no explanation is necessary.

J. Dakar
Refreshing Faith
3 min readMay 19, 2014

--

Hebrews 11:1

I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. The paths we’re meant to travel will guide us if we pay attention to the signs.

Some call it fate. Others call it destiny, but I call it faith.

Faith, itself, has many definitions. But I use the word referring to complete trust or confidence and a strong belief in God.

I posted a quote by Steve Maraboli that I’m sure resonates with many of us:

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.”

That quote could apply to many personal experiences. But my college application process was the first that came to mind.

I applied to many colleges and universities across the country way back when. Georgetown University was my first choice, though.

Georgetown is one of a few schools that requires an admissions interview, and I remember mine with a Georgetown alumnus who had become a physician.

It all seemed to be going well until he asked me if I had any questions.

I didn’t.

I now realize that should have helped prepare me for the rejection letter that later arrived. Not asking a single question made me seem as if I wasn’t interested in attending Georgetown. This assumption wasn’t the case, but how was he to know? I failed to take advantage of the opportunity to express my desire to do so, and it cost me admission.

Although I had my heart set on Georgetown, I also applied to other schools. Some accepted me and most even offered scholarships to attend. But the one school I wanted to go to more than any other had denied my admission.

We sometimes want something we’re not meant to have.

To this day, I have no idea why I had my heart so set on Georgetown.

I want to think that I would have followed through with my plan if I had gone, which would have significantly altered my course. For that, I am grateful I didn’t!

Everything I’ve experienced, both good and bad, has brought me to this point and made me the man I am. I wouldn’t want to change that. I credit my faith for granting me the ability to discern such experiences for all that they are.

The things that I once aspired to do pale in comparison to some of the things I’ve done. That’s not to say my life has been nothing but amazing things happening all the time. I’ve faced hardships. I’ve endured challenges. I’ve lived to tell tales.

Without my faith, I would have thrown in the towel long ago. I’m so thankful that I didn’t because I would have missed out on so much.

I didn’t get into my first choice for college. But I have no regrets about having attended Birmingham-Southern College. That includes enduring pancreatitis and having to withdraw medically. As painful as all that was, it was a part of my path.

Danielle Belton remarked about our college choices that “It’s the experience that matters.” I couldn’t agree more.

I’m sure if I had gone to Georgetown, I would not have been a part of Concrete Loop. The now-defunct site gave me my first go at writing professionally. Who knows what I’d be doing right now if I had gone?

I do know that what is for you is already yours.

Faith requires us to be patient and mindful that everything life gives us (both good and bad) will be ours in due time. We have to realize that with faith, doors will open that no man can shut. All the opportunities I thought I missed led to even better ones I never saw coming. Faith will do that and so much more.

“That’s the thing about faith. If you don’t have it, you can’t understand it. And if you do, no explanation is necessary.” — Kira Nerys

--

--