“It Could Be Worse”

amanda gilliland
Refreshing Faith
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2014

--

I had a bad day. I felt like Alexander… he had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day once. When you read through his day, Alexander just had normal frustrating stuff happen to him. He was so upset about his day that he planned, as an 8 year old, to move to Australia. He was ready to run away to a new country leaving behind his family and friends. He didn’t have major life changing things happen to him that day. He woke up with gum in his hair, his mom forgot his dessert, his brothers got shoes they wanted but he got stuck with ugly white ones, He didn’t get to wear the pajamas he wanted, the cat wouldn’t sleep with him — all the really tragic things that happen to kids.

I have had many bad days like Alexander’s day. When you live for over 30 years there’s bound to be a few of them. Today’s world gives us ways to search out friends for encouragement that we didn’t have before. Facebook, Twitter, email, text messages, they all give us instant connection to people and allow us our “vent sessions” or our chance to seek out a kind word.

I normally don’t buy in to posting bad days or frustrations online, but this day was bad. My husband’s job had kept us apart for far too long, my son was entering the tortuous twos — that, my friends is the next level beyond the terrible twos — I was boxing up for a move with a two year old helping me simultaneously unpack, it was just the perfect storm and something happened that day that had me seeking out help, comfort, kindness, compassion, encouragement. I foolishly didn’t know where to turn. So, there I was with a Facebook status just having a moment, detail free, but clearly sharing that in the midst of my stormy seas my lifesaver ring had deflated. Getting things off your chest is nice, you feel free to move on and just even courageous to confront the day ahead by getting it out there.

Later, I was on my computer, all had settled, my seas had calmed, I was comfortable and resting and then I saw a response to my post. “It could be worse” it said, and beneath it a picture of a snowy graveyard, a military funeral and a lone soldier saying goodbye to someone he loved.

Stunned silence, hurt, and confusion swirled in my mind. Am I supposed to be upset that it could be snowing? Or was is that I could be in the military or married to military? Or what about having to attend a funeral? Or are they saying I could be dead so it could be worse? I immediately deleted my post. The negative connotations, no matter how it was meant to be delivered, were too much for me to be comfortable with leaving it on my page.

I’ve shared this story with some friends lately and it has allowed me to think through my response to that post from years ago:

“Cast all your cares upon Him for He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:17

This is my response. God doesn’t distinguish between the levels of hurt and define those that are considered valid. Whether I’ve lost a loved one or lost my keys, God cares for me. He desires that I lean on Him. He doesn’t promise that I will have smooth sailing or no pain through the rest of my day or my life, but He does care for me, He provides for me and is my strength when I am weak when I cast my cares on Him.

Even in the mundane of daily life I can talk to God about my feelings good or bad. I’ve had tough conversations with friends, where, going into it, I knew would be a confrontation. Moments before, I sought the Lord’s guidance through the situation. I prayed about how I couldn’t do this alone, how I needed Him desparately to intervene. That doesn’t mean the confrontation doesn’t happen, it means that He helped me through it. He provided peace, clear mind, and guidance with each word. I didn’t leave the meeting second guessing my words or replaying the things I heard over and over in my head. I felt at peace and, honestly, I saw a different person in front of me from who I expected.

No more online “vent sessions” or complaining.

I did it all wrong that day.

I should have turned to the only one that truly cares.

It could always be worse, but every hurt is significant to God. He desires to take on the burden for us because he cares. Even if it’s small we must remember to cast it upon Him — He cares.

--

--