NONSENSE VERSE

Just a Bit of Nonsense

For Fun’s Sake

John Hansen
The RvR
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2023

--

A color pencil sketch of a dragon in a tree
I just drew a dragon because I could: image by Author.

What is Nonsense Verse?

A form of light verse, usually for children, depicting imaginative characters in amusing situations of fantasy, whimsical in tone and with a rhythmic appeal, often employing fanciful phrases and meaningless made-up words. (Dictionary.com)

Just a Bit of Nonsense

I don’t have time
To make this rhyme,
But if I did
It would be sublime.

These stanzas all
Are as they fall,
The order at
My muse’s call.

Remember when
You were just ten?
I’d like that time
Relived again.

If I cannot
I’ll fire a shot
Into a pile
Of polka dots.

A man shooting polka dots
Created by Author using Bing Image Creator (DALL-E 3)

Pretty grandkids
All in a row.
Sprinkle with love
To make them grow.

--

--

John Hansen
The RvR

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!