The Horse and the Elephant

In Support of Animal Rights

John Hansen
The RvR
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2023

--

A drawing of a ceramic elephant and a wooden horse
Crayon drawing by Author

Horse

The horse said to the elephant,
“You are so big and strong.
I envy you your awesome power,
And your trunk’s so very long.”

Elephant

“But you are graceful, sleek and swift,
You race for great prestige.
I’d like to be so stately,
You are a lovely steed.”

Horse

“Well, humans use me for their sport,
To ride, or race if able.
When I am not in their use
I’m locked up in a stable.”

Elephant

“I hate my large and floppy ears,
My trunk drags on the ground.
I’d love to have a tuneful voice,
Not this loud trumpet sound.”

Horse

“You have the freedom of the plains,
To run and play at will,
The largest animal on land,
Your tusks are cool as well.”

Elephant

--

--

John Hansen
The RvR

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!