The Snowman Who Gave

And Gave … and Gave … and Gave

John Hansen
The RvR
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2023

--

Drawing by Author J. Hansen

The Snowman stands smartly dressed
In a waistcoat, scarf and gloves,
A top hat sits upon his head,
A carrot is his nose.

A fine red fox came passing by,
“Hello Snowman,” he says.
“That is a lovely hat you have
Upon your snowy head,”

“Please, take it, my dear friend Fox,”
The Snowman says and smiles.
“I don’t really need a hat,
You may have it for a while.”

Next a Rabbit hops along and says,
“I love your carrot nose.”
The Snowman said, “Please take it.
You are hungry I suppose.”

An Owl flew down from a tree
Saying, “How d-o-o you d-o-o?
I love the waistcoat that you wear.
It’s cold this winter t-o-o.”

“Please take it,” said the Snowman,
“I really am quite warm.”
The Owl thanks him and flies away,
Before the next snowstorm.

--

--

John Hansen
The RvR

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!