MORE SLEEP = LESS WORK?

Reinvent Yourself
Re-Invent Yourself
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2017

Hey there Re-inventors!

We often beat ourselves for sleeping much, don't we?

Let us talk about an interesting topic and that is :

Will sleeping(napping included) reduce the results that I produce?

MY STORY:

Before writing this article, I just took a nap for 20 minutes. I came back home from some work and was really tired because i know i was not able to catch up on my sleep the last night.

I had two choices: Either I had to convince myself that I have to work and then write this article or I could take a nap and then continue my work.

Till one point, this choice was not easy for me. I would think that I would WASTE 20 minutes by taking a nap and then regret it later. On the flip side, I also knew that my body did require sleep, a lot.

The result, almost always, was that I ended up NOT taking a nap and then working somehow. The feeling of tiredness would go away for sometime but not forever.

Throughout the day, after having lunch, in the evening and even while having my dinner I was feeling sleepy.

What then happened was that as soon as i had my dinner, I felt asleep and then ended up sleeping for 9 hours, which is almost 2 hours more than my normal sleeping time.

I woke up(obviously in regret) and then decided to have a look at the list of things that I needed to do that day. WHAT I THEN SAW, MADE ME EVEN SAD.

I had some work left from the previous day as well :(

I woke up late, had a bunch of things to do and now, even some pending work.

I could not leave it here simply.

INFERENCE:

I started to analyze why wasn’t I able to complete my tasks even when I did not spare even 20 minutes to rest? I felt all the hard work was useless and it was a bad feeling.

after analyzing the previous day, I found that my focus was not as good as it needed to be. I was getting up probably every 10–15 minutes to eat something and then obviously I took longer to complete my work.

I then decided to take a nap the next day, around noon, because by that time I usually have worked a lot.

RESULTS:

The results were phenomenal. I took a nap only for about 15 minutes and woke up feeling refreshed and ready to attack my tasks!

I even completed my planned tasks before hand that day!

This incident really made me believe that napping is useful and if you push too hard while ignoring sleep you’ll have to lose one day!

This being said, you can now take naps without feeling guilty because you will always win(show more results) at the end of the day.

The time period differs from person to person and it is not even necessary to take naps(if you really don’t feel like it)

My main motive is to share my experience so that you all don’t beat yourselves up over this.

LET’S ALL BE SUPER PRODUCTIVE!

If you want more of such articles, click here

LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK ABOUT THIS ARTICLE: DO YOU THINK THAT I’M RIGHT OR WRONG OR BOTH! ?

Also, let other people also see this article, so that they can also Re-invent themselves, by clicking that little green heart :)

LET’S GROW TOGETHER!

CHEERS!!

--

--