Workplace Bullying In a Pandemic

Ree Jackson
Reject Revolution
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Photo by Tarik Haiga on Unsplash

As if there isn’t enough to worry about right now.

For all the messaging about getting through this together, so many actions undermine those words.

For me, I’ve devoted the last two years trying to help people through the horrible experience of workplace bullying. As a survivor of someone who had their career destroyed by a sociopathic narcissistic boss, I know how devastating the experience is for so many people. To help others, I wrote a book about how I survived the experience. I thought I had dealt with my demon, and I would never have to face it again.

I was wrong. And I discovered this during COVID-19 pandemic. This is the update to my story.

The New Bully

Our company got a new leader in 2020, about a month before the pandemic took hold.

We were all excited. The new leader came on board, said all the right things. Inspiring, compassionate, realistic. I fell in love with the idea of the future of a workplace that would be different, nimble, dynamic and caring.

Silly me.

In my workplace, I am known as a creative problem solver and solid writer. When the new leader needed someone to help craft their messaging, I was called into help. The new leader felt that his messaging needed pizazz and the…

--

--

Ree Jackson
Reject Revolution

Helping people through career trauma. Sharing thoughts on kindness, health, parenting, and politics too. Author of the ebook Reject Revolution. Be well.