Why Do I Like ‘Unknown’ Music of Alina Baraz? No, I’m Not Weird

Arta
Relatable Reality
Published in
3 min readJun 16, 2018
Alina Baraz via Instagram @alinabaraz.

Do you know Alina Baraz? Have you ever listened to her songs? If you haven’t, well you should.

She sings some songs that I don’t even understand what genre is that, but I just keep listening to those songs.

Oh yeah, here, I’m not going to talk about the profile of Alina Baraz but just about her music and opinion about it.

I don’t know about others, but personally I feel relax when I play Alina’s songs.

My first favorite songs of her is “Fantasy” feat Galimatias. I downloaded it in 2016.

So, what I get from this song is like you were on a beach and see attractive guy and he’s kind of ‘flirting’ to you. And both of you like to smoke joint under the palm tree.

I could be your private island on a different planet anything could happen. Listen to the waves, let them wash away your pain. I could be your fantasy,” what a lovely lyrics.

Then, what do you think about the lyrics? The writer(s) wrote poetic words in seductive way, isn’t it?

I will feel ‘easy like Sunday morning’ every time I listen to “Fantasy.”

After that, I keep searching her other songs and I found some, like “Drift” and “Can I.”

Well, I played Alina’s songs at my previous office and my friends told me that her voice sounds like she smoke weed while singing.

What?! No!

Honestly, I ever thought about it too but then I realize ‘that kind of voice’ is just her charisma, that’s the way she sings.

And I ever listened to her solo songs, but I have to admit that I don’t really enjoy them.

I prefer her songs with Galimatias. They are the best.

October 2016, I found Alina work on new song with new composer.

His name is Ta-ku. I also listened to some Ta-ku songs, especially featuring Wafia, such as “Meet in the Middle,” “Love Somebody,” and “American Girl.”

Alina’s song with Ta-ku titled “Down for You.”

The music is quite different, the atmosphere is different, but I still can enjoy the song.

Alina’s voice is soft, rustle (maybe), and sort of slothful, actually I don’t know how to to describe it (sorry).

Most of my friends said “What are those (song)?” or “The songs make me sleepy.”

Yeah, right.

They make you sleepy if you listen to them over and over.

I don’t know what exactly her music genre is.

People call it electronic music, indie, electronic folk, whatever.

I can’t find any specific genre of hers so I end up call it ‘unknown.’

Because sometimes you just need to enjoy the music without thinking too much about what is that, who is the singer, or what the songs are about.

As long as the music sounds cool in your ear and you enjoy it, nothing is matter.

So, guys if you already listened to Alina’s songs, let me know your comment about it.

--

--